ICC Under 19 cricket world cup to kick off on January 27

ICC Under 19 cricket world cup is due to begin in Dhaka, Bangladesh, on 27th January. Sixteen teams from around the world will be seen competing for the coveted title, while the South African team will be defending their title. In the last edition of the tournament in 2014, South Africa had defeated Pakistan to win the cup.

The Australian team had backed out of the tournament following security concerns, due to with Ireland will now be competing. Fiji will also be seen competing in an international tournament for the first time. The competing times have been divided into four pools. Group A consists of Bangladesh, South Africa, Namibia and Scotland. Group B consists of Afghanistan, Canada, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Group C consists of England, West Indies, Fiji and Zimbabwe. Group D consists of India, Ireland, Nepal and New Zealand.

Two matches will be played on the first day of the tournament. The inaugural match will feature the hosts Bangladesh and defending champions South Africa opposite each other. The second of these matches will be between England and Fiji. The quarter finals will take place on 5th, 6th and 7th February, will the semi-finals will be on the 9th and 11th February along with a reserve day. The final will be on 14th February.