The Biggest Indian Film Fare Award Show 2016

At last the biggest awaited event came to an end. India’s one of most prestigious award Film ware 2016 was all over the news. The glamour pomp and show at the event was phenomenal.

Baajirao Masatni and Peeku were the two most prominent movies of the award ceremony.

Let’s have a look at the award winners:


Bajirao Mastani was the star of the show. The film successfully won the maximum awards including best film and best actor award. Best director’s award went to Sanjay Leela Bhansali while best actor in a leading role went to Ranveer Singh.

Deepika Padukone won the award for the best actress in a leading role for her outstanding performance in Peeku.

Filmfare 2016 Ranveer Singh & Deepika Padukone


The best actor in supporting (Role) male went to poor for his work on Dil Dhadakne Do. Priyanka Chopra won the award of the best actor in a supporting (Role) female for Bajirao Mastani and hence brought another victory to the film. Priyanaka Chopra was not at the event to receive the award so Deepika Padukone did the honors and received it on her behalf.

Filmfare 2016 anil kapoor


Arjit Singh won the award for the best singer male. He beat the Pakistani nominee Atif Aslam for his song Sooraj Dooba hai Yaron from the movie Roy. Atif Aslam was also nominated for his song jeena jeena from the movie Badla Pur but unfortunately did not receive the award. Anyhow, better luck next time.

Roy proved to be the biggest winner in the music category; winning awards for the best music category (award went to Ankit Tiwari, meet bros, Anjjan and amal malik) and best male play back singer was awarded to Arjit Singh.

Award for best lyrics went to Tamasha’s Agar Tum Sath Ho and best play back singer female was awarded to Shreya Ghoshal for Deewani Mastani from Bajirao Mastani.



Critics best actor male award was presented to Amitabh Bachan for his phenomenal performance in the movie Peeku. Peeku won the award for the best film while Kangna Ranawat won the award for the best female actress for her performance in Tanu weds manu again.

Film Fare Awards presented to Amitabh Bachan


For the extraordinary and quality work; Moushimi Chatterje, who was last seen in Peeku as Deepika’s aunt was awarded lifetime achievement award.

The young and talented singer Armaan Malik received the Rd Burman award for his numerous contributions to the music industry.

Film Fare 2016 Moushimi Chatterje and Armaan Malik


Sooraj Pancholi won the best debut actor award for his performance in hero whereas Bhumi Pednekar won the best debut female award for her acting in Dum laga ke haisha.

Debut Awards 2016

The Best Debut Director award went to Neeraj Ghaywan for his movie Masaan.

Bajirao Mastani again successfully swiped other awards as well. The film got the award for best action, best choreography, best costume and best production design.

Last but not the least, Peeku won the award for best background score and best screen play which was awarded to Anupam Roy and Juhi Chaturvedi respectively.

Tanu weds manu again received an award which was for best dialogue while Bajraangi bhai jaan got the award for best story.

Other winners of the technical awards included Dum Laga Ke Haisha for Best Cinematography, Talvar for Best Editing and Best Sound Design, and Bombay Velvet for Best VFX.